Once Upon A Curfew by Srishti Chaudhary

As an Indian historical fiction, Once Upon A Curfew takes us back to the age of classic Bollywood films, references to which are made frequently in almost every chapter. Fans of Rajesh Khanna and Bollywood songs from the 70s would definitely be engaged while reading this novel. It is the story of two sisters, InduContinue reading “Once Upon A Curfew by Srishti Chaudhary”

A Flutter in the Colony by Sandeep Ray

Sandeep Ray’s historical fiction narrates the story of a young couple who make their way from newly-independent India to a town in Malaya. In a manner befitting the cadence of his writing, the author introduces us to the highly turbulent environments of Bengal and Malaya, as the respective regions grapple with communal tensions and theContinue reading “A Flutter in the Colony by Sandeep Ray”

Book Review — Small Acts of Freedom by Gurmehar Kaur

“I don’t fear this place that people go to and never come back. I fear this place where people have to survive each and every day on memories of two and half years, holding on to them for the rest of their lives, however long they live.” Small Acts of FreedomĀ is a testament to theContinue reading “Book Review — Small Acts of Freedom by Gurmehar Kaur”