The Tiger Throne by Preetha Rajah Kannan

The Chola dynasty is said to be one of the longest dynasties in the world. This Tamilian empire saw a great many victories under the reign of several kings. To retell the story of one such warrior is a feat like no other. Preetha Rajah Kannan achieves this with the utmost dedication to narrating theContinue reading “The Tiger Throne by Preetha Rajah Kannan”

Harsha: The Fearless Warrior of Thanesar by Rajat Pillai

Rajat Pillai’s historical fiction is a portrait of Harshavardhan, a young warrior who gets thrust into a position of great responsibility well before his age. Born into a loving, royal family, Harsha doesn’t realize what it takes to lead a kingdom and keep warring forces at bay until he is forced to confront the lossContinue reading “Harsha: The Fearless Warrior of Thanesar by Rajat Pillai”

The Secret Keeper of Jaipur by Alka Joshi

The sequel to The Henna Artist begins years later, placing Lakshmi and Malik in a different phase of their lives. Malik, having completed his education, has been sent back to Jaipur to learn the ways of business. However, this endeavour is made bittersweet by him having to leave behind Nimmi, a tribal woman he grewContinue reading “The Secret Keeper of Jaipur by Alka Joshi”

The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi

Determined to build a life for herself on her terms, Lakshmi flees from her village, leaving behind her parents and abusive husband. Over the years, she garners a topnotch reputation as a henna artist, serving the wealthy & elite families of Jaipur. But one day, there’s a surprise visit from her hometown. And if LakshmiContinue reading “The Henna Artist by Alka Joshi”

Once Upon A Curfew by Srishti Chaudhary

As an Indian historical fiction, Once Upon A Curfew takes us back to the age of classic Bollywood films, references to which are made frequently in almost every chapter. Fans of Rajesh Khanna and Bollywood songs from the 70s would definitely be engaged while reading this novel. It is the story of two sisters, InduContinue reading “Once Upon A Curfew by Srishti Chaudhary”